It’s Only Spring Training

As the players get into the swing of things at Spring Training, I refuse to get sucked into the mini-dramas that surround every team’s roster. Don’t get me wrong; I can’t wait for the baseball season to start (although a brief diversion by March Madness is always welcomed). But I refuse to get overly excited about what’s happening down in Florida. It’s Spring Training, not Spring Season. It’s a time for a team to iron out the kinks in the roster and help players get back into shape. Everyone is hopeful, with dreams of winning 100 games. But following the standings in the Grapefruit League? I’d rather watch reruns of The Nanny.

The same can be said about the off-season, the time of the hot stove. A fan can get so worked up about potential player swaps. And usually these trade bargains are right out of the Crazy Towne Gazette. “We’ll give you two Single-A pitchers and a player-to-be-named later for Robinson Cano.”  Yeah, right, and I’d also like you to throw scalding acid on my face as Cano packs his bags, please. Thinking about outlandish trades is kind of like thinking about marrying a super-celebrity. Yeah, it could happen but not to you, dude. Why bother? It’s not like anyone from the Yankees organization is giving me a call to hear what I have to say about a possible player signing. Hold on a minute, I’ve got to tweet Cashman. #myopinionmeansnothing

Do I look like I want to hear your trade ideas?

Do I look like I want to hear your trade ideas?

The Yankees had a pretty boring off-season, aside from the usual A-Rod steroid and injury stories. And they seem content with what they have to work with down there. So I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt. Take the players you’ve got and build the best team you can. Get Jeter, Pettitte, and Mo ready to play again. (Can’t wait to see ol’ 42 on the mound!) Let Girardi, Cashman, and the Steinbrenners work on the overall roster plan for the next forty days. But as soon as the season starts, the team better be ready because I know that I will, along with the rest of the fans.

It gets late early out there.

–scooter

Leave a comment

Filed under Scooter

Leave a Reply

